the '1 and Done' rule needs to end

Post new topic    LakersGround.net Forum Index -> General Basketball Discussion Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
windycitycane
Franchise Player
Franchise Player

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:27 am    Post subject: the '1 and Done' rule needs to end

..after watching Zion Williamson hurt his knee last night, potentially costing him millions upon millions of potential dollars, why do we have the '1 and done' rule for these kids that should be drafted out of high school?

I'm a software developer. If i'm 14 and could care less about going to MIT and there is some company willing to pay me a billion dollars for an app I wrote, I don't have to wait until I'm 19 or after a year in college. It's ridiculous!

The NCAA is much about the cash and not so much about 'student athletes' in my opinion. How much did Nike get paid to have their shoe fail on this kid? If his knee is shot, where's the recourse? A free education makes it all good?

Let the kids into the NBA whenever they want. If they declare and don't get drafted, let 'em play college ball for a year or until they graduate. '1 and Done' should be 'Done'.

I'm also an advocate for paying college football and basketball players - revenue generating sports. Legalize it and allow these kids to earn a living while they make millions for the institutions the represent.

go LAKERS!!
venturalakersfan
Retired Number
Retired Number

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:50 am    Post subject:

Go to the NFL rule, you can be drafted 3 years after your graduating high school class.
lakersken80
Retired Number
Retired Number

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:49 am    Post subject:

I'd like to do away with the rule but not for the reasons you stated. I think its dumb to make an athlete who has zero intentions of ever getting his degree to do one year in college. That roster spot would be better off going to somebody who intends to go to school and actually finish their degree.